Kelly Fordon

SHARON HARRIGAN

Kelly Fordon talks to Sharon Harrigan about her novel, Half, published by the University of Wisconsin Press, June 2020.

This week I’m talking to Sharon Harrigan about her terrific new novel, Half. Among many other things (including Michigan!) we discussed how she turned the award-winning short story, Half, published in Pleiades in 2013, into a novel.

In a starred review Booklist said, “Fans of Jeffrey Eugenides, Andre Dubus III, and Jane Smiley will adore Harrigan’s suspenseful, lyrical, and consuming exploration of two difficult lives, intertwined. . . Raw and powerful, Half will stay with you.”

Publisher’s Weekly wrote, “Harrigan’s bold stylistic choices and memorable voice lend the novel a sense of mystery and magic, well suited to the themes of childhood fears and adult disillusionment. Riveting and inventive, this is a cut above the average coming of age tale.”

Foreword Reviews called Half “gripping” and New York Journal of Books called the point of view “astonishingly effective.” Sharon is also the author of the memoir Playing with Dynamite. 

Sharon Harrigan has a B.A. in English from Barnard College, Columbia University, and an MFA in Creative Writing from Pacific University. She teaches writing at WriterHouse in Charlottesville, where she lives with her family. For more information, see her website here.

 

You do not have sufficient freedom levels to view this video. Support free software and upgrade.

Purchase the book here at Bookshop or here at Amazon or here at the University of Wisconsin Press.

 

In other news:

I read at Lit Youngstown on August 30th and it’s up on Youtube. Ignore the hair dye. Sheesh! What was I thinking? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XJ86ZXpvEHg&fbclid=IwAR3qT3EcEhgz-qMt69OsVvKhkbEYm1eVRJfQC2N-ABJJWAPVl4vB1K6aowA

If you feel like giving I Have the Answer some love on Goodreads or Amazon or any place else, I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks! Stay safe and well, everyone.

Skip to toolbar